14 New Music Albums To Check Out: May 2013

Daft Pink Random Access Memories

Last month, we showed you 15 new album releases to check out in April. Of those albums, Phoenix, Rob Zombie, Kid Cudi, and Snoop Lion cracked the top 20. We overlooked Michael Buble, Fantasia, Fall Out Boy, Will.I.Am, The Band Perry, Tate Stevens, and Brad Paisley. To each his/her own. Today, we’re providing you with a guide to the most notable and buzzworthy albums to check out in May.

“More Than Just a Dream” by Fitz and the Tantrums
Release Date: May 7th, 2013
Genres: Soul, pop, Alternative rock
Label: Elektra Records

The album was produced by Tony Hoffer whose credits include releases from Beck, M83, Depeche Mode, and Phoenix. It’s their first release for Elektra Records.

“Strange Pleasures” by Still Corners
Release date: May 7, 2013
Genres: Dream pop, indie pop
Label: Sub pop

The second full-length album from the London-based band has received a 5 out of 5 star review form The List. Their 2011 debut album “Creatures of an Hour” received 4 of 5 stars from Allmusic while Pitchfork Media gave it 6.5 out of 10 and NME rated it an 8 out of 10.

“Prisoner of Conscious” by Talib Kweli
Genre: Hip hop, conscious hip hop
Record Label: Javotti Media, EMI, Capitol

The fifth solo studio album will feature guest appearances from Nelly, Miguel, Curren$y, Kendrick Lamar, and Busta Rhymes along with production by S1, Oh No, and Harry Fraud among others.

“Golden” by Lady Antebellum
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Genre: Country
Label: Capitol Nashville

The album was produced by Paul Worley who produced or co-produced albums by Dixie Chicks, Big & Rich, and The Band Perry. It was preceded in January 2013 by lead single “Downtown”, which peaked at #2 on the Hot Country Songs chart and at #1 on US Country Airplay. On April 16th, the track “Goodbye Town” was released to iTunes as a promotional single for fans who pre-order Golden. It already has a ton of pre-orders.

“Mother” by Natalie Maines
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Genre: Rock
Label: Columbia Records

This is the first solo studio album from the lead vocalist of the Dixie Chicks. The title track, a cover of Pink Floyd’s “Mother”, debuted on the West of Memphis soundtrack on January 15, 2013.

“Annie Up” by Pistol Annies
Release Date: May 7, 2013

They’ve been nominated for 2011 American Country Awards New Artist of the Year and their video for “Hell on Heels” received nominations at the 2012 CMT Awards for Group Video of the Year and Breakthrough Video of the Year.

“Modern Vampires of the City” by Vampire Weekend
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Genres: Indie pop, indie rock
Label: XL

This is the third album from the indie rock band from NYC. They released a double A-side single, “Diane Young/Step” in mid-March. The album’s title is a reference to the opening lyric of the Reggae song “One Blood” by Junior Reed and the cover art is a 1966 photograph by Neal Boenzi of the smoggiest day in New York City history, on which the air pollution killed at least 169 people. Hopefully, this album kills… but not people.

“Lip Lock” by Eve
Release Date: May 14, 2013
Genre: Hip hop
Label: From the Rib, RED

This is her first album in eleven years. It features guest appearances from Gabe Saporta, Dawn Richard, Missy Elliott, Snoop Dogg (or Lion if you’re a weirdo), Chrisette Michele, Juicy J, and Pusha T among others. It’s hard to believe it’s been a decade since Eve was dominating the media landscape. What the hell happened?

“Excuse My French” by French Montana
Release Date: May 21, 2013
Genre: East Coast hip hop
Labels: Coke Boys, Bad Boy Records, Maybach Music Group, Interscope

His debut studio album features guest appearances from Max B, Ace Hood, Snoop Dogg, Scarface, The Weeknd, Diddy, Drake, Rick Ross, Birdman, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Ne-Yo, Raekwon, 2 Chainz, and Machine Gun Kelly among others.

The first official single released from the album was “Pop That” on June 15th, 2012. It featured Rick Ross, Drake, and Lil Wayne, with production from Lee On The Beats. The track peaked at 36 on the US Billboard Hot 100. His next single “Freaks” featuring Nicki Minaj premiered on Hot 97 on February 13, 2013 and released to iTunes the next day.

“Trouble Will Find Me” by The National
Release Date: May 21, 2013
Genres: Indie rock, post-punk revival
Label: 4AD

The sixth album from the indie rock from Cincinnati features guest appearances from St. Vincent, Sharon Van Etten, Doveman, Sufjan Stevens, Nona Marie Invie (of Dark Dark Dark) and Richard Reed Parry (of Arcade Fire).

The first single, “Demons,” was released on April 8. The second single, “Don’t Swallow the Cap,” was released on April 11.

“Random Access Memories” by Daft Punk
Release Date: May 21, 2013
Genres: House, disco
Labels: Daft Life, Columbia

Work on the fourth studio album from the French duo started concurrently with the Tron: Legacyscore, without a clear plan as to what its structure would be. It pays tribute to the late 1970s and early ’80s era of music in the US, particularly the sound of Los Angeles recordings of that period.

They recorded using live instrumentation with session musicians, and limited the use of electronics to drum machines, a modular synthesizer and vintage vocoders. The album also features collaborations with Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, DJ Falcon, Chilly Gonzales, Giorgio Moroder, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams and Pharrell Williams.

“True Believers” by Darius Rucker
Release Date: May 21, 2013
Genre: Country
Record Labels: Capitol Nashville

This is the fourth studio album from the former lead singer of Hootie & the Blowfish. His 2010 album Charleston, SC 1966 went Gold and peaked at #2 on the US Billboard chart while 2008′s Learn to Live peaked at #5. Both albums hit #1 on the US Country chart.

“The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” by Alice in Chains
Genres: Alternative metal, grunge, heavy metal
Record Labels: Virgin, EMI

The fifth studio album – and second album since their 2005 reunion – has cover artwork that features the skull of a Triceratops with a second skull image steganographically hidden on a red background. The two skulls, when revealed, combine to form the image of the Devil. The album title refers to a belief held by some religious individuals that to confuse the masses of humanity, Satan himself planted dinosaur bones deep into the Earth to dissuade the faithful. Frickin’ Satan. What a jokester.

“Yes, It’s True” by The Polyphonic Spree
Genres: Psychedelic pop, symphonic rock

The fifth studio album from the world’s largest band began on October 11, 2012, the band launched a campaign on Kickstarter to fund their next studio album, tour, live album, and concert DVD. They successfully reached their funding goal of $100,000 on November 28 of the same year.


WRITTEN BY: Neal – Managing Editor of Dailymotion’s SportsComedyViralNews, and Geek Out Channels.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,